top of page
  • Writer's pictureTara Kalavista

A Northern Fall

Updated: Feb 20, 2023

The leaves are starting to change in the Northwoods of Wisconsin, bringing brisk days, chilly nights, and a dazzling array of fall colors.



Every season in the Northwoods is jaw-droppingly gorgeous, in my experience. But autumn is extra special, due to the sheer amount of wilderness full of beautiful woodlands. While we have massive swaths of pine and fir, we have plenty of color-changing hardwoods as well, especially in the appropriately named Forest County.


T...

Last year (2021) was my first fall in the Northwoods. I've mentioned in other posts that I grew up in Plains states; I was born in Nebraska and spent most of my life in Iowa. Yeah, we have trees there. Sure, they turn colors. But it's a mere whisper of the glory that autumn brings to northern Wisconsin. I don't even know how fall affects the lower part of the state - nor do I care. My heart belongs in the Northwoods, with the occasion foray up to the incredible Upper Peninsula of Michigan - another incredible place to experience fall.



But fall comes and goes quickly here. You absolutely have to make time to go driving to admire the colors. The first photo on this page was taken September 24, 2021. The picture above was taken at the exact same spot on October 2.


Most of my favorite images seem to be from Forest County, so that's what I'm going to share here.



This is the same spot as the first picture, and it's located on Highway 8 by the bridge over the Wolf River.



This is on County S between Crandon and Hiles. The trees were perfect that day.


One of the most incredible places in the world, the Experimental Forest in Argonne. There are no words for how flawless this place is, in any season.


This is just outside Rhinelander in Oneida County; I was looking for something called the Limberlost Labyrinth, which is fairly underwhelming. It's a painted maze on the concrete on a dead end road. The road is lovely and it's a very pretty drive, but apparently no one knows anything about why this is here, who made it, or why.


There's a good aerial shot of it on this website. Here's what I managed:



3 views

Recent Posts

See All

Lovely, Dark, and Don't

While the 2023 horror/drama "Lovely, Dark, and Deep" is gorgeously shot, I take umbrage with the plot. Like major umbrage. The summation...

Comments


bottom of page