top of page
  • Writer's pictureTara Kalavista

Three Lakes - Class, Cars, and Cabins

Updated: Sep 24, 2022

This tiny town between Eagle River and Rhinelander is one of Wisconsin's best-kept secrets.



Even locals don't always know what you're talking about when you mention Three Lakes. I've dropped this name when chatting with my neighbors and fellow Hodags and they look at me in confusion. "Which three lakes?" But anyone who's in the know will nod wisely and get a wistful look on their face - because the Three Lakes area is one of the most beautiful and exclusive in the tri-county region.


The trendiest, wealthiest city tourists all know Three Lakes - but even some locals don't.

Three Lakes' population swells massively in the on season, as a huge number of the elaborate neo-log-cabin lake houses are summer homes to wealthy visitors from cities like Chicago, Milwaukee, Madison, and even the twin cities in Minnesota. People do come from even further away - Florida is a big one - but they all come for the beauty of the area and to enjoy the sprawling chain of lakes.


The trendiest, wealthiest city tourists all know Three Lakes - but even some locals don't, as I mentioned, which seems odd to me. It's almost like the area is closed off - an entire town designed just to accommodate tourists. I talk it up to those I know around here, though. Three Lakes always has some fun festival or exclusive event going on. Whether it's a world premiere of a new movie at the tiny theater or concerts in Cy Williams Park, the summer months are busy in Three Lakes.


There aren't a huge number of bars and restaurants, but the ones that exist are excellent. At least, I can say that for the restaurants, as I don't drink. A bar has to have fantastic food to lure me in - like Pike's Pine Isle, where the gourmet flatbread pizza will knock your socks off. Probably the best-known Three Lakes restaurant is the Black Forest, a Germany place right in the middle of town. It's good, but not as good as Aromas, an upscale Italian restaurant located in an old general store. Aromas is out in the middle of nowhere, between a former strip club (I swear I'm not making this up) and our version of a gated community on the stunning Clearwater Lake. (If you visit, get the steak gorgonzola pasta. You'll never be the same!)


The most popular local ice cream shop is also right downtown, kitty-corner to the Black Forest; Lick-a-Dee-Splitz offers a variety of gourmet ice cream and dares visitors to purchase the massive Badonkadonk. I think it's around $20 and if you finish it, it's free - or maybe you just get a bumper sticker that says "Stop staring at my badonkadonk". I haven't been brave or hungry enough to attempt it.


My favorite thing about Three Lakes is the beach by Maple Lake, where the picture above was taken. It seems like every time we go swimming there, we run into a huge thunderstorm. There's nothing like seeing thick, dark clouds rolling across the lake - we always scramble to gather up our picnic supplies and dash into the shelter, where we still get drenched. I guess that sounds unpleasant - but these are some of our favorite summer memories.


My other favorite thing about Three Lakes is the cars. The most gorgeous cars - both modern and vintage - are the ones I've seen in this little town. Last year a friend and I caught the world premiere of "Magnificent Madness", a mini-series by Chip Duncan that focused on the creation - and eventually demise - of the elegant Cisitalia, an Italian race car project in which Ferdinand Porsche himself was involved. The above models were featured as part of the event.

3 views

Comments


bottom of page